What Does Managed IT Cost in New Brunswick in 2026? Sourced Ranges, Exclusions and a Quote Worksheet
2026-10-26 · 9 min read
Key takeaway
We found no published New Brunswick-specific managed IT price survey, so we use the published Canadian and North American ranges and add New Brunswick wage data. Published fully managed ranges run roughly $110 to $250 per user per month, depending on the source and the scope. The headline number matters less than what is excluded: hardware, licences, projects, after-hours work and incident response are commonly billed separately.
What the published ranges say
Managed IT prices are mostly published by providers, so they are marketing documents as well as data. Treat them as ranges to test your quote against, not as a price list. Neither source below states a currency. F12.net describes itself as a Canadian managed service provider founded in 1996, so its dollars are probably Canadian, but confirm that with any quote you receive. ARPHost's survey covers the United States and Canada together.
| Item | Published figure | Source and caveat |
|---|---|---|
| Fully managed, per user per month | $175 to $250 | F12.net (Canadian MSP). Currency not named. |
| General managed IT range, per user per month | $100 to $300 | F12.net. Wide because scope varies. |
| Monitoring only, per user per month | $15 to $75 | F12.net. No help desk implied. |
| Fully managed average and typical band | $145 average; most plans $110 to $185 | ARPHost, citing a survey of 412 MSPs and buyers across the US and Canada. Method not described. |
| Per device, per month | $10 to $300 | F12.net. Suits device-heavy sites. |
| Project work | $125 to $250 per hour, or $10,000 to $100,000 per project | F12.net. Migrations, upgrades, remediation. |
For a national comparison, see our Canada-wide managed IT cost guide and the how much do managed IT services cost page.
What a monthly plan looks like for a New Brunswick team
New Brunswick is a province of small employers. ISED counted 20,631 employer businesses in December 2024, of which 20,256 (98.2%) had fewer than 100 paid employees. The arithmetic below multiplies the published per-user ranges by three typical team sizes. It is our own multiplication of those ranges, shown so you can sanity-check a quote, and it is not a price we are offering.
| Team size | ARPHost band ($110 to $185) | F12.net fully managed ($175 to $250) |
|---|---|---|
| 10 users | $1,100 to $1,850 per month $13,200 to $22,200 per year | $1,750 to $2,500 per month $21,000 to $30,000 per year |
| 25 users | $2,750 to $4,625 per month $33,000 to $55,500 per year | $4,375 to $6,250 per month $52,500 to $75,000 per year |
| 50 users | $5,500 to $9,250 per month $66,000 to $111,000 per year | $8,750 to $12,500 per month $105,000 to $150,000 per year |
The gap between columns is the real lesson. A provider quoting at the low end is probably selling help desk and monitoring. One quoting at the high end is probably bundling security tooling, documentation and incident-response readiness. Neither is wrong, but they are different products. Ask each provider to map its price to the same list of controls, which is what the worksheet further down is for.
What is billed separately, and what that means for your real bill
F12.net lists items that are typically billed on top of a monthly plan: hardware purchases, Microsoft 365 licensing, Azure or AWS consumption, firewall, server or switch replacement, office moves and major cloud migrations, compliance audits and penetration testing, after-hours support and on-site visits, data recovery and cybersecurity incident response, custom application support, backup redesign and security remediation. ARPHost adds a warning about "unlimited support" that can still exclude onboarding, major projects, third-party application failures and on-site work, and gives an example in which a $99 per-user quote picks up $15 to $25 per user in add-ons.
That last example is useful arithmetic. A $99 headline plus $15 to $25 in add-ons becomes $114 to $124 per user. For 25 users that is a difference of $375 to $625 per month between the brochure and the invoice. Before you compare two quotes, convert both to an all-in monthly figure using the same list of inclusions. Remember that incident response is commonly separate. The Saint John reporting in our New Brunswick incident lessons shows forensics and containment as their own line items.
The in-house comparison, with New Brunswick wage data
Job Bank, the Government of Canada's labour market tool, reports New Brunswick hourly wages from 2023 to 2024 data, last updated November 19, 2025. For computer network technicians it shows a low of $26.05, a median of $36.88 and a high of $57.69 per hour. For computer technicians (NOC 22221) it shows a low of $18.50, a median of $27.69 and a high of $40.87.
We converted these to annual wages using 1,950 hours (37.5 hours a week for 52 weeks). That is our assumption and it ignores vacation coverage. At the median that comes to about $71,900 a year for a network technician and about $54,000 for a computer technician, before payroll taxes, benefits, equipment, training and recovery time when that person is away. The full range for a network technician is about $50,800 to $112,500 in wages alone. These are wages, not the cost of an employee, and we have not added an overhead percentage because we do not have a sourced one for New Brunswick.
| Option | Annual figure | What it buys |
|---|---|---|
| One computer technician (median wage) | about $54,000, wages only | One person, weekday coverage, general support. Security depth depends on the person. |
| One network technician (median wage) | about $71,900, wages only | One person with more infrastructure skill. Still a single point of failure. |
| Managed plan, 25 users | $33,000 to $75,000 (ranges above) | A team's worth of coverage and tooling, defined by contract. Exclusions apply. |
For about 25 users the managed range straddles the cost of one technician's wages. Below roughly that size, one hire often cannot cover absences, security tooling and specialist projects. A middle path is co-managed IT, where your internal person keeps day-to-day tickets and a provider covers infrastructure and security. Our co-managed explainer and managed versus in-house comparison cover the trade-offs.
The scope-to-price worksheet
Ask every provider to mark each line below as included, extra (with price) or not offered. The lines come from the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security's 13 baseline controls for small and medium organizations. A quote that cannot fill this table is not comparable to one that can.
| Control (CCCS) | Ask the provider |
|---|---|
| 3.1 Incident response plan | Is a written plan included, and is incident response itself hourly? |
| 3.2 Automatic patching | Which systems and apps, how often, and who reports failures? |
| 3.3 Security software | Which product, who pays the licence, who responds to alerts? |
| 3.4 Secure configuration | Is a baseline applied to new devices? |
| 3.5 Strong authentication | Who sets up and supports two-factor and password management? |
| 3.6 Awareness training | How many sessions per year, any phishing tests? |
| 3.7 Backup and encrypt data | What is backed up, where, how often, and who tests restores? Storage limits? |
| 3.8 Secure mobility | Are phones and laptops managed and encrypted? |
| 3.9 Perimeter defences | Firewall, DNS filtering, VPN and email protection: included or extra? |
| 3.10 Cloud and outsourced IT | How does the provider secure its own admin access to your systems? |
| 3.11 Secure websites | Is website security in scope? |
| 3.12 Access control | Who removes accounts when someone leaves, and how fast? |
| 3.13 Portable media | Is there a policy for USB drives and disposal? |
New Brunswick factors that move the price
- Health information. If you are a custodian under the Personal Health Information Privacy and Access Act, expect to ask for tighter access control, logging and breach procedures, which usually sit in the higher-scope plans. See the New Brunswick privacy law guide.
- Multiple sites. A business with locations in, say, Moncton and Saint John adds network, firewall and device counts. Ask whether pricing is per user, per device or a blend, because F12.net notes per-device pricing suits device-heavy sites.
- Delivery model. At TechCare Canada, work is delivered remotely and hands-on fulfilment is handled by our partner IT Cares in Quebec. On-site availability in New Brunswick is confirmed case by case in writing. If you need regular on-site visits, ask every provider how those are priced and what travel is billed.
- Insurance requirements. Insurers may ask about multi-factor authentication, backups and response plans. Read our cyber insurance guide and have the answers ready before you shop for a plan.
Five red flags when you compare quotes
- No written exclusions list. F12.net advises asking for exclusions in writing before you sign.
- "Unlimited support" with no definition. ARPHost warns it can still exclude onboarding, major projects, third-party application failures and on-site work.
- A price far below the published bands with no explanation of what is missing.
- Onboarding fee not stated. F12.net says onboarding fees are common but not universal. Ask whether it is one-time, folded into the monthly price or spread over the term.
- No restore test in the backup description. A backup you have never restored is a hope, not a plan.
How to use this guide
Pick your team size in the table, note the range, send the worksheet to two or three providers and ask for an all-in monthly figure in Canadian dollars plus a list of what is billed on top. If a figure cannot be explained against a control, ask why. Our MSP selection checklist adds contract questions. For local context, see managed IT services in New Brunswick and the pages for Moncton, Fredericton and Saint John, and the lessons in New Brunswick cyberattack lessons. National hubs: Managed IT Services in Canada and Small Business Cybersecurity.
Sources used
- F12.net, How much do managed IT services cost (provider-authored; currency not stated)
- ARPHost, Managed IT support pricing (provider-authored; survey method not described)
- Job Bank, Computer Network Technician wages in New Brunswick and Computer Technician wages in New Brunswick
- Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, Key Small Business Statistics
- Canadian Centre for Cyber Security, Baseline cyber security controls for small and medium organizations
Figures are published ranges and our own arithmetic, not quotes. Prices change; always get a written quote. Hands-on work for our clients is fulfilled remotely through our partner IT Cares in Quebec.
FAQ
How much does managed IT cost per user in New Brunswick?
We found no New Brunswick-specific price survey. Published ranges run from about $110 to $185 per user per month in an ARPHost survey covering the US and Canada, and $175 to $250 for fully managed plans from Canadian provider F12.net. Neither source names a currency, so confirm Canadian dollars in any quote.
What is usually billed on top of a managed IT plan?
F12.net lists hardware, Microsoft 365 licensing, cloud consumption, firewall or server replacement, migrations, audits and penetration testing, after-hours and on-site work, data recovery and incident response, and security remediation. ARPHost warns that an apparently low per-user quote can pick up $15 to $25 per user in add-ons.
Is hiring one IT person cheaper than a managed provider in NB?
Job Bank shows a New Brunswick median of $36.88 an hour for computer network technicians and $27.69 for computer technicians. At 1,950 hours a year that is about $71,900 and $54,000 in wages alone, before payroll costs and coverage for absences. For about 25 users a managed plan can cost less or more, depending on scope.
What should I ask a provider before signing?
Ask for an all-in monthly figure in Canadian dollars, a written list of exclusions, how onboarding is charged, whether incident response is hourly, and how backups are tested. The worksheet in this guide maps these questions to the 13 baseline controls from the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security.
Does TechCare Canada provide on-site service in New Brunswick?
Our work is delivered remotely, with hands-on tasks fulfilled by our partner IT Cares in Quebec. On-site availability in New Brunswick is confirmed case by case in writing.
Want a second opinion on your setup?
Tell us about your business and we will reply with a clear plan. Delivery is remote; on-site availability is confirmed case by case in writing.
Contact us →